NJPW G1 Climax 32 participants announced

Changes to this years tournament include 4 blocks of 7 wrestlers.

NJPW G1 Climax 32 participants announced

NJPW has announced the participants for this years G1 Climax Tournament. The comapny has also announced some changes to the tournaments format. This years G1 Climax tournament will feature 28 participants which will be split into 4 groups of 7. The winner of each group will advance to the Semi-Finals. One thing that has not changed is the round robin format, for which the tournament is known.

The tournament will begin on July 16th with the final taking place on August 18th. The winner of the G1 Climax will face the IWGP World Heavyweight Champion at Wrestle Kingdom 17.

The blocks have not yet been revealed but the participants will be...

  1. Kazuchika Okada - Last Years Winner
  2. Tama Tonga
  3. Hiroshi Tanahashi
  4. Tom Lawlor - G1 Debut
  5. Jonah - G1 Debut
  7. Hirooki Goto
  8. Toru Yano
  9. Tomohiro Ishii
  10. Jeff Cobb
  11. Great-O-Khan
  12. Will Ospreay
  13. Aaron Henare - G1 Debut
  14. Shingo Takagi
  15. SANADA
  16. Tetsuya Naito
  17. Jay White
  18. EVIL
  19. KENTA
  20. Yujiro Takahashi
  21. Bad Luck Fale
  22. Chase Owens
  23. Juice Robinson
  24. Taichi
  25. Zack Sabre Jr. - New Japan Cup 2022 Winner
  26. Lance Archer
  27. David Finaly - G1 Debut
  28. El Phantasmo - G1 Debut

This should be an intresting tournament. The new format is intresting but having 4 groups does allow for more participants and unique semi-final and final matches. I do not have a favourite as yet but El Phantasmo impressed me in the Best of the Super Jrs tournament so maybe he can have a good strong debut.

Do you have a favourite to win?

What do you think of this years lineup?

Will you be watching?

Let us know in the comments