NJPW announce largest tournament in history

NJPW announce largest tournament in history

Today NJPW announced that they are to hold their biggest tournament ever, with a staggering 48 wrestlers on the card! 

At first, 32 wrestlers will go head to head from March 2nd until March 7th, then the following 16 winners will go on to face 16 other wrestlers that received a first round skip straight to the second round which will begin on March 9th and leading up to the final which will be held on March 27th.

The whole roster will be in attendance for the tournament, minus a few wrestlers from overseas. However, previous winner Will Ospreay will be in attendance. It is also worthwhile to note that every champion will be taking part in this tournament, minus NJPW Strong Openweight Champion Tom Lawlor.

The participants in the first round are as follows:


  • Kazuchika Okada (IWGP World Heavyweight Champ)
  • El Desperado (IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champ)
  • Both IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Champs: Yoshi-Hashi and Hirooki Goto
  • EVIL (NEVER Openweight & Never Openweight 6-Man Tag Champ(s) )
  • SHO (NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Champ)
  • Yujiro Takahashi (NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Champ)
  • Ryusuke Taguchi (IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion)
  • Toru Yano (KOPW 2022 Provisional Trophy Holder)


  • CIMA
  • TAKA Michinoku
  • Tomoaki Honma
  • Yuji Nagata
  • Togi Makabe
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Taichi
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • YOH
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Yuto Nakashima
  • Aaron Henare
  • Ryohei Oiwa
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Will Ospreay
  • Great-O-Khan
  • Kota Ibushi
  • Chase Owens
  • Jado
  • Hiromu Takahashi
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Shingo Takagi

Entrance receiving a skip straight to Round 2:

  • Master Wato (IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Champ)
  • Sanada (IWGP US Heavyweight Champ)
  • Hiroyoshi Tenzan
  • Dick Togo
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Gedo
  • Satoshi Kojima
  • Kosei Fujita
  • Taiji Ishimori
  • El Phantasmo
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tanga Loa
  • Tiger Mask
  • Minoru Suzuki

NJPW Cup Round 1:

March 2nd (9am GMT on NJPWWorld.com)

  • CIMA vs. TAKA Michinoku
  • YOSHI-HASHI vs. Tomoaki Honma
  • Yuji Nagata vs. Hirooki Goto
  • Togi Makabe vs. Jeff Cobb
  • Toru Yano vs. Taichi
  • YOH vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Tetsuya Naito vs. Yujiro Takahashi
  • Kazuchika Okada vs. El Desperado

March 6th (6am GMT on NJPWWorld.com)

  • Aaron Henare vs. Yuto Nakashima
  • Zack Sabre Jr. vs. Ryohei Oiwa
  • Will Ospreay vs. BUSHI
  • Kota Ibushi vs. Great-O-Khan

March 7th (9:30am GMT on NJPWWorld.com)

  • Chase Owens vs. Jado
  • Ryusuke Taguchi vs. EVIL
  • Hiromu Takahashi vs. SHO
  • Tomohiro Ishii vs. Shingo Takagi

This is the line up for the first round, we will keep you updated as to the participants in the second round at a later date!

What do you think of this huge impending tournament? Let us know in the comments!